Blogging Best Practices

Blogging has become second nature to some people as they discuss events or describe different things. As common as blogging is, it is important to follow some best practices in order to attract and maintain traffic and for people to refer to it as a trusted news source.

Best Practices when creating a blog
In my opinion, some of the “best practices” when creating a blog is the authenticity of the information. Blogging has become another source of news that many rely on and if others rely on a blogger’s information, then they need to trust that the blogger is telling the truth. Perlmutter & Schoen (2007) stated that “while many bloggers may be amateurs in that capacity—although most prominent bloggers are professionals of some kind such as journalists, professors, or businesspeople—they are performing many functions that mimic professional newsrooms.” And if bloggers are performing some of the functions of a professional journalist, then they need to be able to reach the readers at their different levels.

Some best practices when creating a blog include the following:
1. The blog needs to be straight to the point
2. Appeal to more than one audience
3. Authentic and interesting
4. Educational and/or entertaining
5. Blog follow-up/consistency to create an audience
6. Use key words
7. Use references when using someone else’ information
8. Use images for illustration
9. Provide social media links for audience to share the link, thereby increasing your audience
10. Provide space for comments
11. No use of profanity

Self-assessment of my own blog
In assessing my own blog, I see that my blog meets some best practices, but there are some things that I need to work on. My blog meets best practices in several ways:
1. It is straight to the point
2. It uses introduction
3. It provides references
4. It is authentic
5. It does not use profanity
6. It uses some key words
On the other hand, my blog needs some improvements in the following areas and I am already beginning to implement them in this particular blog.
1. Use images to illustrate my point.  I am still learning my way in blogging.
2. Provide social media link for audience to share
3. Provide space for comments

Blog Choice and Best Practices
My blog choice is one by Susie Miller published in The Huffington Post on February 6th, 2016 in which she discusses “5 Ways Toxic Relationships Are Ruining Your Life.” The blog site is http://www.huffingtonpost.com/susie-miller/5-ways-toxic-relationships-are-ruining-your-life_b_9145078.html. Her blog, in my opinion, meets best practices. She uses an appropriate image at the beginning of the blog. She used listings to discuss the five ways toxic relationships are running people’s lives. There is a provision of social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, where the link to this blog can be shared with others. Sharing the link will increase the audience pool. This is a topic that appeals to a large number of audience, young, old, in all types of relationships, whether as in marriage or friendship. In accordance with Blogging Best Practices (2010) that states that “Blogs should be written conversationally and should be short. Think op-ed length and e-mail tone,” her blog is short and is conversational.

As a blogger, if there were an official “Blogger’s Code of Conduct,” would I read it, follow it, and find it useful?

As a blogger, if there were an official “Bloggers’s Code of Conduct,” I would read and follow it. Why would I do so? I would follow a code of conduct because I think that a code of conduct makes my blog appeal to people as they see me as taking responsibility for my writings. Although I am not a professional journalist, I still have the responsibility to deliver the truth to my audience. I have to credit those that I use their materials so that my audience knows my source of that information.

References
Blogging best practices: Tactics techniques, procedure. (2010). Fires, , 50. Retrieved from
http://ezproxy.snhu.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/
858868340?accountid=3783
Perlmutter, D. D., & Schoen, M. (2007). “If I Break a Rule, What Do I Do, Fire Myself?” Ethics
Codes of Independent Blogs. Journal Of Mass Media Ethics, 22(1), 37-48.
doi:10.1080/08900520701315269

Leave a Reply

